Menu

ASLA-NCC

American Society of Landscape Architects
Northern California Chapter

News

Rare Napa Valley Landscape by Pioneering Modernist Thomas Church Under Threat

Rare Napa Valley Landscape by Pioneering Modernist Thomas Church Under Threat

Letters of support are needed immediately

William Cole Vineyards, St Helena, CA

By Pam-Anela Messenger
Published February 14, 2014

William Cole Vineyard

William Cole Vineyard, photo by Pam-Anela Messenger.
Napa Valley’s William Cole Vineyards, owned since 1999 by Bill and Jane Ballentine, includes landscape and gardens designed by the great Modernist landscape architect Thomas Church. For safety reasons, local officials are now requiring the Ballentines to widen the Church-designed service road – a move fire code consultants, engineers and preservationists say is unnecessary – or they will shut the winery down.

More….

How to Help

Unless the county’s proposed 20-foot-wide driveway is built by February 17th, the winery will be shut down.

Letters in support of preserving the garden should be emailed immediately to:

Brad Wagenknecht – brad.wagenknecht@countyofnapa.org
Mark Luce – mark.luce@countyofnapa.org
Diane Dillon – Diane.Dillon@countyofnapa.org
Bill Dodd – bill.dodd@countyofnapa.org
Keith Caldwell – keith.caldwell@countyofnapa.org
John McDowell – john.mcdowel@countyofnapa.org
Peter Parkinson – peter.parkinson@countyofnapa.org

Posted in Design, Planning , Urban Design & Transportation. Tags: , , , .

Comments are closed.